Classification of Dhatus (Body tissues)

Dhatus are the basic elements or tissues of the body. They are seven in number. Dhatus are basic tissues which maintain and nourish the body. The word “Dhatu” comes from a Sanskrit word which means “that which  forms the body”; the root “dha” means “support” or“sustaining” the body. They all are vulnerable to vitiation caused due to the imbalance of any one or all the three Doshas..

 Dhatus Correlated with
Ras Tissue fluid or intercellular fluid , lymph, plasma, chyle
Rakta Blood, blood cells
Maans Muscle tissue
Med Fat tissue.
Asthi Bone tissue
Majja Bone marrow
Shukra Sperm in males, Ovum in females, reproductive tissue